National Technical University of Athens, Greece



National Technical University of Athens, often abbreviated as  Athens Polytechnic , or  Polytechnic,  is one of the oldest and most prestigious higher educational institutions in Greece. Initially, it was also called  Metsovion, since the philanthropists, with whose funds the university was built and equipped - Georgios Averoff, Nikolaos Sturnaris, Elena and Michalis Tosits - came from Metsovo in Epirus (Mr. Ioannina).

The university was founded by an old style royal decree of December 31, 1836 (new style - January 12, 1837) as the Royal School of Art. At first, it functioned as a unit in the school for the preparation of craftsmen, builders, and only on weekends and holidays. In 1840, thanks to the increasing popularity of the school and the positive changes in the socio-economic conditions in the new state, the Royal School of Art was transformed into a daily technical school, working in conjunction with the Sunday school. The range of courses was expanded, and the educational institution itself received its own separate building in Piraeus.

In 1843, a restructuring was carried out, and three departments were created on the basis of the school: Sunday Vocational School, Daily School and a completely new division called the Higher School of Fine Arts. Afterwards, it was renamed as School of Industrial and Fine Arts, it rapidly developed and subsequently formed basis of a higher educational institution - the institute.

In 1873, the institute received a new campus in the Athens region of Patisia, built with the financial support of Greek philanthropists from Metsovo. Since then, students and residents of the city unofficially called the National Polytechnic Institute Metsovo. In 1887, the institute was divided into three faculties of a technical orientation: construction, architecture and engineering.

In 1917, the institute was reorganized by a special law of the Greek Parliament into the Higher School of Civil Engineers, Mechanics and Electrical Engineers, Chemical Engineers and Architects. In 1923, school graduates formed the basis of the Greek Technical Chamber, a professional organization that acted as the official technical consultant of the Greek state and was responsible for awarding professional licenses for all practicing engineers in Greece.

Athens Polytechnic University
The Athens National Technical University, often abbreviated to Athens Polytechnic, or Polytechnic, is one of the oldest and most prestigious institutions of higher education in Greece.
  • Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical
  • Architectural
  • Chemical
  • Surveying and land management
  • Mining and metallurgy
  • Naval shipbuilding
  • Applied Mathematics and Physics